Solar Charging Issue

richarh

Solar Charging Issue  

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Hi,

I am new to this stuff......

I wonder if you would be able to offer some advice on an issue that I have related to my solar panel not maintaining my leisure battery when my Bailey 760 motorhome is in storage.

Installed on the standard Bailey 760 is:

* a 90W Solar panel which has a Steca Solsum F(6.6F) Solar charge controller connected to the leisure battery.

* a Stirling Power products Auxiliary Battery Charge/Maintainer 12v - 12v, 3A, Code BM12123 which is connected to both the vehicle battery and the leisure battery.

Problem - since installation from new whenever the vehicle has been stored for a month or more the Leisure battery drains down to zero. Not even enough energy to light the LCDs in the control panel for the motorhome. Whist the Leisure battery is completely flat the vehicle battery has enough power to start the engine with no problem.

In storage the motor home is amongst trees and I do have a Protec cover which has a clear section over the solar panel to allow light through.

Once charged through driving the vehicle or through mains supply the battery seems to function ok. Once on site camping, if I disconnect the mains supply and rely on the battery for an evening, it supplies power enough for TV, lights, pump etc. The last voltage reading at night may show something like 12.4V and next day this will rise to say 12.8V suggesting that the solar panel is charging the battery. Also when looking at the indicators on the Steca controller it shows when the battery is fully charged and being charged through green and yellow leds.

I purchased the solar panel specifically to keep batteries up to scratch whilst in storage and yet it seems to detract from performance.

Could the Solar Charge controller be draining as well as charging the Leisure battery?