Charging Engine battery

Chris0leary

My engine battery is sounding like its only just turning the engine over and I was wondering how to tell if it is getting charged when hooked up. The battery is pretty new. I've currently got the van on the mains and the engine battery shows 12.45v. I've found a couple of blown fuses but none that I think relate to the charging system.

My motorhome is a Elddis Suntor 300 with peugeot boxer 2.0 hdi engine.

Im no electronics expert (one or two will be along shortly, im sure) but 12.45v looks about 80% charged according to my Wiki page.....what power supply unit do you have in your van? We have a Sargent unit which can be set to 'smart' charge the vehicle and leisure batteries from the alternator, EHU or solar panel.

Not sure if you can do this with your van but when driving the split charge circuit should charge all batteries from the alternator ots just that mot all vans charge the vehicle battery when on EHU.

Your reading may have come from the last time you drove the van, did you measure it prior to hooking up?

.....if it is on mains, and the voltage measured across the battery terminals is still only 12.45v, then it is odds-on that it is not currently being charged by the on-board charger.

If it were, I would expect that measurement to be at the charger voltage level (anything between 13.7 and 14.5v, depending on system)

Not all 'vans have the ability to charge the vehicle battery in this way, and those that do sometimes rely on the panel settings - a Swift I had years ago required the panel switch to be set to vehicle battery rather than habitation battery.

If you have a couple of blown fuses, unless you are entirely sure these are not relevant, it would be worthwhile replacing them and testing the battery voltage as described above again (which is the best way to check for presence of charging).