Type/size of motorhome????

Mycallhill

Hi folks;i have sold my wife on the idea of touring Spain/France/Italy next year for 2/3 months so im after some guidance on which type of vehicle to buy;just the two of us but i want enough room so we are not too couped up;4/5 berth????;i have no experience of driving a motorhome but intend to buy immenently so should gain valuable time behind the wheel;looking for suggestions regarding everything relating to my proposed trip;budget is £15-20 k ish;thanks Michael;ps read several reviews but the dield is so diverse im confused;a class;coachbuilt;hightop!!!

There are so many threads on here about exactly this, if you read them all your brain will explode and you'll be no further forward.

You'll be advised to hire first, maybe a few times, to try to find out what you want. My advice would be, don't bother, just buy something.

Think of it like this - if you have say £20,000 to spend on a MH, you are very lucky. If you hate it, then as long as you've not trashed the thing, you should be able to sell it on for not a lot less.

If you like the experience, you'll find out as you go along what things would make it better, in terms of size, layout, facilities, manouevaribility etc etc. You can then change your one for something else.

So, pick some things that you MUST have in a MH, forget the rest, buy one, use it, and take it from there.

Good luck.

PS - I got my first one a year ago, loving it, but will hopefully change van shortly - would like something very slightly longer, very slightly different layout. Just working up to presenting a case to OH :D

If you are confused now there is every risk that you will buy what turns out to be the wrong van and lose a lot of money changing it shortly after.

Unless you buy an older van privately and have a good chance of selling it on or trading it in when you find what you do think you want.