External Gas Supply For BBQ What size please?

garryg163

I have an Autocruise Starspirit 2004 and It has an external female quick fitting for BBQ.

Does anyone know the correct male size plug for this and if has a name then that too please?

Am i right thinking I can circlip this to standard CADAC hose to use outside the MH.

I know its numpty but I am new to these things. (lol)

....you will probably need something like this:

http://www.olearymotorhomes.co.uk/bbq-nozle-412-p.asp

....though I believe there are several different designs.

If it happens that your outlet is a "Bullfinch" unit, you will need a different adaptor, detailed here:

http://bullfinch-gas.co.uk/outdoor-utility-points

.....and yes, you can jubilee clip this to a hose for an external device, BUT you need to check the pressure profile of both the output and input to any device connected.

It would be conventional to have the output in the low pressure side of the gas system (i.e. after the regulator) but I would check this, as it would be dangerous to make an assumption.

If so, and your device is set up for high-pressure use (in that it has its own regulator) then this will be incompatible.

If so, and the device is set up for low-pressure use (without its own regulator), you should check that the pressure requirement is compatible with the on-board regulator before using.

(If the device is set up for high-pressure input - with a regulator - and the pressure requirement is compatible with the onboard regulator, it might be possible to dispense with the device regulator).

I wouldn't have a high pressure external LPG connector on my MH; sounds far too likely to leak sooner or later. I can't think of any gas device you would want to use with a MH which would need one anyway. I have low pressure external connectors and they work fine for a BBQ and an LPG-powered generator and they work OK.