Heat shield btwixt boiler and seat?

rambling robin

Hello

I am a total novice on the MH front. It is over 30 years since I was last in a DIY converted LHD VW Type 2 and things have changed a bit! They even have heating and bathrooms these days - amazing...8-)

We took delivery of our 2012 Bentley on Thursday and after a few very stressful moments things seem to be settling down nicely :-D

In common with most designs ( I guess) the Truma boiler/fan heater lives under one of the lounge seat/beds. Due to heat rising from the boiler the bed does get a bit warm and I am someone who hates too much heat in bed. So, it seems to me that it should be possible to make up some kind of heat shield between the two. Since it is just convected heat from the boiler it shouldn't be too complicated, but what would be the best/most appropriate material? Once upon a time a sheet of polystyrene would have done the trick but it is a little dangerous in flammable situations!!!

Has anyone tried this or got any advice/suggestions on best materials etc?

Thank you

I'm not familiar with your van make.

Is there a gap between the heater and sleeping?

There are several insulation board types around with a foil reflective surface. I doubt that foil on its own would do a lot. Perhaps a slatted material so allowing the passage of warm air to divert away from the bed material, it would probably still need a cover over the slats for comfort. How much height do you have. More higher the slats, more cooling.

There's not a huge space between the bed slats and the top of the boiler - 2" max I'd say.

Further grovelling around suggests that I'd either need to fit some sort of reflective board to the non-moving slats of the bed frame, or to the base carcass. Trip to a DIY store to look for reflective foil radiator backings seems to be required methinks!!!