Heating & Cruise Control

itz

Hi everyone,

I am a new to this forum & new to the world of camping and motor homes. I have just bought my first motorhome and being a total newbie now discover I really should have thought it through a little more. I do not have heating or cruise control, everything else is just what I need, layout, size, easy to drive etc.

My question is how easy and how much to have both heating and cruise control retro fitted to a McLouis 361, and any recommendations for where would be the best place to go for this work to be carried out. I should state that price is an important consideration, I hope to get this done for about £1,000 to £1,200. or less would be even better.

For heating while hooked up consider a cheap fan heater.

My car has Cruise control and on a recent trip to France found it very useful on motorways but for much of the UK traffic conditions are so congested I cannot be bothered with all the fiddling about.

I do not have it on my motorcaravan and as I rarely use motorway on the continent do not miss it at all.

Would have thought all MHs would have some form of heating for the habitation area, however, main dealer would be able to answer questions about retro fitting. We have cruise control and find that you dont have to be on an Autoroute to use it. Traffic is not so heavy as the UK, except for towns and cities. We regularly use the one on our Chausson once out of towns etc with no problems at all.

Whilst it may not be functioning, I'd be quite surprised if such a 'van didn't originally have heating. Are you sure there isn't any fitted. It may be hidden away, but blown-air circular outlets should be easy to spot.

I like cruise-control, and have specified it on my new 'vans, but I'm not sure I'd bother to retrofit onto an older van.

However, if you do want it, then depending on base vehicle, it should be fittable at about half your target outlay.

As examples, two well-known suppliers/fitters: