Eurotunnel migrants?

hallii

After our unpleasant experience getting to the Calais ferry we have decided to use the tunnel. We have done the tunnel lots of times but not with the migrant problems as bad as they are.

I know the migrants have made excursions into the tunnel etc but are they actively targeting motorhomes? They were on my last Calais crossing!

I am just looking for the least amount of hassle, maybe Caen would be better?

Any opinions welcome.

H

Guest pelmetman

We've booked to go out on the tunnel, when it comes to booking the return trip we'll decide on our route nearer the time :-| ...........

Obviously, I have no experience on such matters( ;-)) but I did catch an item on a digital, talk-radio station the other day.

It was a report from a camp in/at Dunkirk, apparently it has grown from 80 in march, and in the last month alone, had doubled to well over 1000..and they're expecting it to be 1200-1500 by Christmas...

I haven't noticed much mention of it on any of the main news/media channels... ?

Perhaps something to keep in mind ....?

Edit: As you were!....Having just had a quick Google, I see there's been a camp of sorts there for a few years... :$

We used the tunnel 6 weeks ago going out and delayed till 03.20 going out.

On our return we were delayed 2.5 hrs. The carpark at Eurotunnel was heaving with loads of merc vans with some seats in with immigrants with passports coming into the uk. It was b......... Awfull.

We had only just renewed our frequent traveller.

WISH I hadn't.

We normally go away for a weekend, but can't because I'm not sure how delayed we'll be. It's a nuisance.

We came back via the tunnel in July and although the roads were chokka with lorries we were not delayed, in fact we got on two ferries prior to our booked one as we set off early because we thought we may have been held up.

The situation could have changed since then of course