Motorhome sale

Brian Kirby

Well, we want to get a new one, so the present one has to go!

For reasons I won't bore you with, part exchange isn't a practical option, and the sale needs to be reliable, quick and uncomplicated.  Then I can order the new van.

I have no experience of selling motorhomes.  If anyone done this within, say, the past year or so, would you be kind enough to give me some guidance?

I'm aware there are substantial risks with private sales, mainly over security of payments.  Since I'm hoping for near £25K, it seems asking people to wander around with cash is a bit impractical.  However, I hear of bogus banker's drafts and forged building society cheques.  Does anyone know what can be relied upon?

For payment security, I'm somewhat inclined to sell to the trade, even though that will mean a lower price.  It is also likely to secure a quicker sale than advertising, and awaiting replies.  Has anyone experience of selling to dealerships?  Any dealerships you could recommend - within the South East if possible, it's where I live!

Finally, internet sales - no, not ebay!  There are a number of sites for private sales via the internet: there is a "Buy and Sell" section to these forums.  Any experience of these?

Please do send private mail if you prefer, and I'll reply by the same means.

Thanks in anticipation.

Brian direct bacs transfer from buyers account to your own is as safe a method as exists at present. It also avoids any waits while cheques/draft etc are cleared. A general point which should be borne in minds by all in this position is that that bankers drafts and building society cheques are not guaranteed methods of payment both are open to fraud so take care not to get caught out. The other scam for private sales is the "nigerian scam" where someone offers more than you are asking for. Nobody sensible does this don't get caught out by this you lose in the long term. Docted