Always disconnect the battery on my Rapido?!

Paul in Brum

Hi folks. Newbie here. I posted this in hints and tips and whilst getting some great advice it was suggested I post it here.

I've just bought a used Rapido 962M (02 plate). Super chuffed. The couple I bought from explained they always disconnect the main battery (engine, B1) to stop it draining when on site, as it continually tops up the leisure battery (B2). There's a solar panel fitted.

Are they right or just over cautious?

Surely when not hooked up, B2 will be topped up by the panel and when it runs down a drive around will charge it up again (or hooking up)?

I hired a new motorhome last year for the summer and it was fine in this way and didn't have a solar panel to top it up. But the couple were clear - B1 can drain and needs disconnecting at every stop.

I've had a read of the manual and it talks about the two batteries working together but nothing to suggest the scenario from the previous owners.

Any and all advice gratefully received.

Sounds to us like you have a fault?

If the Starter battery is healthy, it should take weeks to drop to a low voltage.

We have come across a couple of Solar Power Installations that used a Battery Master style device that had developed a fault. The battery master was back feeding the habitation battery from the Starter battery.

We also encountered a case where the Battery Master was connected incorrectly, again the power being stolen from the Starter battery to feed the Habitation battery once the habitation battery voltage dropped below that of the Starter battery.

All other times the habitation battery stayed up above the voltage threshold that triggered the battery master to kick in. The Starter drain only happened while on site but not any other time, because that was the only time the habitation battery dropped low to trigger the battery master to steal power in the wrong direction. Took ages to find what was wrong.