Solar panel regulators

malcy

I've been reading with interest A &N,s comments on the positioning of solar panel regulators when installing a panel. I'm not technically gifted with regards to electricity so I will gratefully accept any advice from a professional such as A&N but I am a bit confused. He states that the regulator should be situated as close to the battery as is practicable, but on all the stand alone ones I've seen it is fixed to the panel itself. Don't know if I've misunderstood what I've read but still confused all the same. Anyone with the knowledge or experience on this matter or indeed A&N himself, could you please enlighten me further. As I said at the beginning I am a bit thick as regards electricity so don't be hesitant if you feel you need to start from the basics.

In simple terms I hope:

Controllers are I expect plonked on the back of solar panels offered as a stand alone unit, because the maker can offer it as a working, wired up unit, all tested and complete.

It is technically a dreadful location as any decent controller features battery temperature compensation and the controller located there has not a clue what the temperature is at the battery. Plus, a side effect of a solar panel making electricity is it gets hot, thus a back mounted controller gets hot and backs off the charge voltage too readily.

Add to this the controller is not seeing the battery voltages as the interconnecting wire to the battery loses some voltage in transmitting the current to charge the battery. Thus it does not know what it should really be doing, and as said has no idea of the temperature compensation it needs at apply.

Located physically close to the battery the controller hopefully "feels" the temperatures the battery sits at. Also close the controller "sees" the true battery voltages, plus it can adjust for the voltage losses in the long wires from the panel.

By far best to locate the controller close to the battery, not to the panel.