Electroblock went bang!

Vernon B

Some years ago, can't find it, a thread ran about Schaudt Electroblocks being knocked out by a spike in electricity. There was no fuse to protect the unit against this surge and it had to be returned to Schaudt for repair. Schaudt then offered a fix which involved purchasing a separate device which you put into the circuit.

What I'd like to know is whether Schaudt are now supplying their units with the fix already installed.

(You will have gathered that I am not an electrical engineer but hopefully you'll get my drift)

V

There was a lot of misinformed advice on the Forums a few years ago with some posts incorrectly stating that the Schaudt Elektroblock did not have any inbuilt Spike/Surge protection, when they do.

They actually have VERY good inbuilt Spike Surge protection, exactly the same as all other Motorhome/Caravans.

In the past 6 + years we have repaired thousands of Schaudt Elektroblocks, like the EBL 99, yet we have had less than 10 that have suffered genuine Sikes/Surges.

Almost always the reason an EBL fails is from poor batteries, an overlarge battery bank or both.

What caused confusion was that Schaudt introduced a device called an Over Voltage Protector 01 (OVP 01) that was designed to trap damage from 'rogue' Generators.

The OVP 01 is a relatively slow acting device designed to trap 'slowly' rising voltages, like when a Generator runs erratically on start-up/shutdown. If you look at the spec for the device, Schaudt do not mention ANYTHING about Spikes or Surges, most of which will be trapped by the EBL inbuilt Spike/Surge components.

Hence the device being called an Over Voltage Protector, not a Spike/Surge protector. An OVP will lock out the voltage coming in to the device if it goes outside 190v to 260v.

If your EBL has popped and wasn't being used on a Generator at the time, I would be prepared to bet £5 the batteries are the culprit?