Is age all in the mind?

longtemps

We motorhomers are generally an intrepid bunch. Bright eyed and bushy tailed is our morning mantra, is it not! However, I have often wondered what is the average age of the majority of us is and what is the intended and of course approximate time when we will be emptying our final toilet cassette and hanging up our rubber gloves!

What a great question,and I would think a hard one to answer,there are so many questions to answer first.

I was born in 1946 (71) and this is my first year with a Motorhome and I ask myself the same question and more.Was I mad at this age?I was always self employed and had no time to play golf etc,I didn't retire until last year on my birthday at 70 .I lam slim 11 stone,no major health issues,active,I can still jump under the van and do most of my own work,I feel 50 ish,I hope to keep it until I am 80.I did have a caravan for 2 years before I retired and changed it for the Elddis ( 2004 400rl) it is under 20 feet long,easy to drive.

My age is part of the reason we bought an old van as we are not sure it is suitable for us at our age starting.Are there many people still Motorhoming in their late 70's or 80's or am I dreaming.

Kevin

I'll just keep going till I cannot do it anymore, how long that will be who knows. I had 'penciled in' plans till my 76th year, but that's a long way off and I could keel over tomorrow, so I'll take it as it comes.

I had planned to retire at 60, but things changed and I had opportunity to work pretty much as and when I feel like it within reason and I find this good as my job is generally quite interesting, I had settled into this when gf announced she will be dragging me off around the world again next year.

Kevin/1946 - 2017-10-10 9:07 AM

What a great question,and I would think a hard one to answer,there are so many questions to answer first.