Carbon Monoxide Warning -- Fridges

ChrisD

Hallo everyone.

I have a Rollerteam 746 (purchased from new) and on a long trip this summer my fridge developed a fault.

Although I didn't know it at the time this fault caused it to produce lots of Carbon Monoxide.

There was a very strong smell which my wife and I attributed to road resurfacing (melting tar).

But I later realised this was coming from my fridge vent so turned off the fridge.

I should explain that I am a qualified Gas engineer and own a firm of Gas contractors.

Before our trip I tested the gas system, visually inspected the hob and fridge and serviced the boiler.

The fridge was tested with a combustion analyser and all tests returned within correct limits.

It later turned out that an insect had crawled into the flue, had been cremated when the burner came on and hence the producing of copious amounts of CO.

This in itself was one issue but the fridge is supposed to be 'room sealed' i.e. the exhaust sealed from entering the van. But mine was not, the top seal was incorrectly made and with one of the rooflights open it acted like a chimney drawing the fumes from the fridge exhaust into the camper. And lots of CO.

When I visually checked the seals prior to our trip they appeared absolutely fine and I believe that many an experienced gas engineer would have been fooled by these perfect looking seals. But they weren't and only removal of the controls fascia revealed the issue. Our inspection procedures have completely revised following this incident although we do not work on campervans.

Needless to say I'm in discussion with the supplier.

So in conclusion all 746 owners, I recommend that the top seal is checked and if in doubt return it to your Dealer for checking and possible rectification.

Please, before a trip have your appliances gas checked and not just a 'hab check'