Caravan Guard

sshortcircuit

Caravan Guard  

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

After wasting 10 minutes on phone to get quote "because of value of MH we would require Thatcham? alarm and Imobiliser"

If they had said this at start I could have terminated call quicker as I will not be forced into purchasing a product that I have no knowledge of.

MMM this month have an item on a security system fitted to a MH. Having been in the alarm trade for over 25 years I find some of the statement questionable in this article. In addition the Panic Button shown leaves a lot to be desired

Absolutely no difficulty with telephone manners and I dont no how you came to that negative assumption.

Present insurer has not requested the restrictions required and cover would appear about same.

My point is I am not being pushed to have something fitted, at a considerable additional cost, that other do not require.

Well, from your post I thought the "product" you were referring to was the insurance and, since you claimed 25 years of alarm experience, I assumed you'd have heard of Thatcham as the organsiation that sets the vehicle alarm "gold standard".

I still can't see why this insurer's requirement for an alarm warranted your post, though.

Quite a number of insurers require motorhomes to be fitted with alarms, and most of those that do specify alarms to one or other of the Thatcham standards.  However, I'm sure they don't push you to buy particular makes of alarms, it's just that in return for what they will claim is a lower premium, they want you to have a Thatcham accredited alarm fitted.