Drivers Seat belt and Airbag Warning Lights On

stevec176

A couple of days ago I went and started the MH after a 2 month layup and left it running for about 30 minutes. When I went back I noticed that the drivers seat belt warning light was on, even tho the seat belt was connected, and also the drivers airbag warning light was on. As it was -2° outside I decided to switch off and check again later. I've just been out again and started the MH and the lights still stay on but this time I also noticed that the mileage reading is flashing and the passenger airbag light is also on. It's all looking really expensive so before I book it into the garage for investigation and the annual serving and MOT, due in March, does anyone have any information please.

I am no expert but the flashing mileage indicates that the Can bus system has lost communication on one or more of its nodes. This could mean that there is no communication with the air bag module leading to the warning lamp being on. My suggestion for what its worth is to perform a 'Proxy Alignment' with the aide of the Fiat Interrogator System or alternative such as Multiscan.

I suggest you google Proxy Alignment to get a better explanation. If your service is being carried out at a Fiat garage they would have to connect the interragator system to the vehicle to reset service interval etc so a Proxy Alignment is only an extra finger press.

https://www.gendan.co.uk/multiecuscan.php

A ow battery can throw up this fault.

Fully charge the battery and disconnect the battery for 1 hour.

Reconnect battery and ???? It may have worked.

I did email Fiat regarding our fault.

Being out of warranty by 10 months I thought nothing would happen, this email was sent on a Sunday.

Monday morning I received a telephone call from Italy advising me to take it to our local Fiat professional and Fiat would look to cover the cost.

So depending on the age of your MH I’d try charging the battery first before contacting Fiat.