Truma boiler dead as a Dodo :-(

Sue Hughes

Hi all, I'm new to this brilliant site so please bear with......

I have a converted camper van with a Truma 4E boiler on board. It has completely died on me. There is no response from it all, either on gas or elec.

I've had the fuse out and all OK. I've used a voltmeter (first time so chuffed with myself) and there is power definitely going to the boiler. I've disconnected and reconnected the comms cable going to the rotary dials (analogue not digital controls ), I've also removed and returned 2 cables going into the boiler to attempt a reset as advised on this site . But still there is no response at all..

Before I make a 4 hour return trip to the company where I purchased the van does anyone have any other ideas PLEASE . ty

Some vans have a switch that shuts the boiler off fitted to any window that is over the outlet on the side of the van , if there is one fitted on your van you should be able to see it on the window frame and maybe the window is not fully closed.

When you had the wiring cover of to check the comms cable was there any sign of a small flashing LED near to where it plugs into the boiler PCB ,

Thanks so much Buddy.

However there is no switch on or by the window and also there is no LED on the boiler - or at least if there is its not illuminating.

Dont suppose you can think of an other possible reasons why it's dead ?

Could it have overheated, killing the fan perhaps (I only ask this because when I had it on for hot water -in the heatwave last Thursday evening - the boiler did get rather hot and when I went to turn it on the following morning that was when I got no response from it )

Thankyou

The Truma 4E Combi boiler has a overheat reset button it is under the wiring cover at the opposite end to the Comms connection and is described as a red button ( I thought it only applied to 240v but may be worth checking)

Thanks Colin.