Cracking noise on cornering Hymer B544 Fiat A Class 93

AF1

43 minutes ago, snowy said:

My first thought would be , drive shaft joint,  and second wheel bearing.

I have been in the motor trade most of my working life, I believe it is coming frome the coachwork frame.  However I have no experience of wooden framed coachwork apart from Morris Minors 🙂

I suggest you check the condition of your Hymer's front coil springs very carefully (I assume the "93" in your posting's title indicates 1993 as the vehicle's year of manufacture).

I'm doubtful that Hymer would have used timber as a main component of its bodywork construction, but, even if they had, I wouldn't expect this to suddenly begin to produce cracking noises when cornering.

On the other hand, there are several on-line comments about front-suspension coil springs breaking on older Hymer A-class models and - although the failures have tended to be 'catastrophic' - occasionally the motorhome was still drivable.

You might try asking about this issue here

https://www.motorhomefun.co.uk/forum/forums/hymer-owners-group.86/

I have found out that Hymer Class As of this period do have a galvanised steel space frame, which is very minimal in the front corners.  Some owners have fitted extra bolts to remove any 'slack' and the plywood dashboard acts as stiffening if unrotted and well secured!!

380939859_1156858612384786_8786353570500816329_n.thumb.jpg.f5e21536e845f1c98d69989b121672a8.jpg

Edited by AF1
error

FWIW, I'd suggest getting the front suspension and its mounting points, the drive shaft CVJs, and wheel bearings all checked by a suitably competent garage as the first priority.  That should eliminate items liable to result in serious risks to life and limb.  Thereafter, other sources of the noise should not relate to anything actually dangerous.