Help Please - Batteries discharging

robin

I am in a bit of a panic as we are preparing for a trip next week and I have discovered my batteries are discharging - if anyone can help, I'll be eternally grateful.

I have 2 * 110 leisure batteries which have been installed just short of 12 months.

The voltage looked low yesterday - which was a bit worrying as I had been driving the 'van about 50 miles per week and not been using it for camping in the last month.

I confirmed that the engine was charging o.k with a voltmeter.

I therfore plugged into mains for 24 hours and checked, after disconnecting the voltage was 13+. I then waited a couple of hours and checked again - and the voltage was way down. (I can't say excactly as my voltmeter is one of these that gives a good, low or flat reading. )

I have taken one battery off and put it on a bench charger - it seems to be holding the charge.

I intend to do the same with the other one.

I have a Van Bitz battery master fitted - so it is possible this is sucking some juice to the engine battery (that seems fine by the way). I'm not sure if I can disconnect that to see if it makes any difference.

There is something called a 'Spannungregler' next to the charged on the 'van - that seems to be a bit warm.

Has anyone got any ideas -

:-( please

We had a similar problem a few weeks ago. In our case it was an additional battery charger that I fitted to help "boost" the vans own charger. The extra battery charger "boiled" the batteries dry in a matter of weeks! I topped them up with distilled water but the damage was done. Eventually I had to replace 1 of the 110 amp batteries as the cells had broken down.

An expensive lesson in battry management!

Is there an extra charger on your van? If so this could be it.

Good luck.

Hi Robin,

You can't do much without a multimeter, there's a cheap one at Maplins on link http://tinyurl.com/22rrvt , which will allow you to pinpoint your problem.