Flat Cab Battery

warmstr3

Hi All,

I'm new to Motorhoming, and have recently bought a new swift Bolero 680 FB, but I have let the battery go flat (3 weeks of none use), do I have to remove the battery to charge it or can I use one of those battery boosters / engine starters to get it going again?.

Bill.

warmstr3 - 2008-01-28 7:22 AM

Hi All,

I'm new to Motorhoming, and have recently bought a new swift Bolero 680 FB, but I have let the battery go flat (3 weeks of none use), do I have to remove the battery to charge it or can I use one of those battery boosters / engine starters to get it going again?.

Bill.

Hi Bill,

Didi you leave something running?

Have you an alarm that is draining the battery?

3 weeks is not a long time in this country fo a battery to go flat if it isnt used.

You can get optimum chargers that charge whilst the battery is in situ. However I would try and look into why it has gone flat so quick.

Hi

Do not remove the battery you can upset the alarm system. If you have a sigma alarm fitted as I have on mine there is a constant drain on the battery. I charge mine every 2 -3 weeks or take the van for a run. On these new vehicles when you switch off at the ignition the ECU puts everything in sleep mode so there is a small drain there to. Its a good idea to check the battery voltages on your control panel in the camper on a regular basis, check if your on board charger charges both batteries at the same time, mine does not, but has a switch to change over batteries and I use this to charge my engine battery, them switch back to leasure battery.I read some where else on the forum that swift recommend that you charge the batteries at least every 3 weeks. If its convenient you can leave the camper hooked up when parked this should solve your problem bearing in mind what charging arrangement you have fitted.

Bill

I take it that it is your engine battery that is going flat. This should not happen. Fault somewhere.