Thule 400 Electric Step

Len Salisbury

I have a Peugeot Boxer 2010 2.2 Diesel and the step is playing up. I have an auto electrician involved in the diagnosis as it it is still under dealer warranty. Auto electrician says that motor is faulty and needs replacing. A new step is on its way today. The difference cost wise for replacement motor or new step was minimal in £s. I have taken motor off the step and wired directly to 12 volt battery and it works fine both ways. So powerful you cannot stop it. Having read the problems that people are having with the step I am wondering if we are looking in the wrong direction. I have almost re-fitted my step together to see if it retracts and extends directly from 12volt. I am not an electrician so is it a RELAY problem and if so WHERE IS THE RELAY LOCATED? It will be interesting to see if the new step functions straight away when fitted. I have contacted previous owner who told me that he had a new step fitted in 2013 and has done very little mileage. I am the 3rd owner and the mileage was 10400. The step was malfunctioning on day of delivery last June.

...it could well be a relay or wiring problem, but in order to help you with the possible/probable location (and other diagnostics) you will have to tell us which motorcaravan it is, as the converter, not Peugeot, will have arranged the wiring for the step.

Len,

Exactly how is the step "Malfunctioning"? This may give us a clue as to the cause of the fault.

eg. Does it not go back in when engine is started or what (?)

As the step was previously replaced and you are still having troubles and you have now bench tested this step as 'OK' it would almost certainly point to the fault being elsewhere.

Have you tested the microswitch in the back of the step (assuming a Thule step has one) as these can often jamb?

Keith.

...I doubt you'll find too many people on here who can comment on that particular 'van, but maybe some on similar contemporaneous models.