Reverse polarity

maxautotrail

Whilst away in France and Spain this year we found a few sites that had reverse polarity. I have a couple of connectors to correct it but on a site in Spain I simply put the cable into an adjacent socket and all was fine. One socket block served 4 pitches. The French neighbour thought I was taking some-one else's electricity and when I explained and said anyone turning up on that pitch could simple use mine.

He went on to say that he was an engineer and didn't understand "reverse polarity" even after I explained it.

This got me thinking.

I'm not an electrician so I'm now confused. Can someone enlighten me in plain English please.

The electric supply is AC. I think this means that the "direction" alternates between live and neutral. So if that is the case a fuse on the live wire won't necessarily protect you.

So is the English system right or wrong - better or worse than the continental system.

Confused from Crewe, Keith

This has been discussed many times on here just put reverse polarity into the search facility at the top of the page and you will get flooded with posts.

We have a reverse polarity indicator on our supply line with a simple switch that reverses the wireing if indicated to be reversed but in actual fact< AS I UNDERSTAND IT, reverse polarity only becomes dangerous if you dismantle any electrical equipment while it is still conected to the mains and still switched on otherwise it doesnt really matter

Try the search facility for more difinative answers

I shall keep this brief if I can.

The floating earth system as used in europe in some areas basically has 2 live conductors for the supply and basically float around the earth connection. The earth or ground plays no part in conducting any of the power.