Legal advice wanted

dipstick0_0

I have recently sold a vehicle on the internet the buyer arrived inspected and drove the vehicle was given all previous mot and service history to confirm the mileage paid me cash and drove it home over 350 mls two days later he informs me a headlight bulb was not working and that caused him a problem driving home on dip also he claims the vehicle was given an advisory about an oil leak on the last mot even though it passed its mot and I should have declared that (I honestly forgot all about it)I have offered a full refund on the vehicle if he returns it in the same condition The question is do I have to collect the vehicle and give him a refund or should I just wait for him to return it to me Hope this makes sense :'( :$

I'm no lawyer Alan, but as far as I can see, you've NO obligations at all to this guy. Unless you're in some way part of the motor trade, this was a private sale and as such it's "caveat emptor" - buyer beware.

Whenever I've sold a vehicle privately, to be on the safe side I've always noted on the bill of sale "as seen tried and approved," but in fact that's the legal position anyway. It was up to him to check things like the headlights for himself, and presumably you handed over all relevant documents so you weren't deliberately hiding anything about the MoT advisory. Even if you didn't, the only time you'd be liable would be if you'd made a FALSE statement to him, but just not mentioning something doesn't count.

Any better-read lawyers than me want to add anything?