Gaslow

atom13

Hi guys,

I'm new to motorhome-ing and would like some advice. I've just bought a used motorhome with 2 propane-lite bottles. One is connected to the regulator by a propane hose; the other is connected via a gaslow hose with a red wheel to tighten it.

Is it OK to use the gaslow hose to connect to a propane (calorgas) bottle or should I change it ?

Your comments on gaslow and gas it systems are very interesting. It's got me thinking....

Alan

The Gaslow hose is perfectly OK to use, and the Red Wheel is easier to use than a cheap spanner (I always used to skin my knuckles when I used one) Gaslow also do a Stainless steel hose, with red wheel,that doesn't need replacing for 20 years ! and it is supposed to help get rid of 'Gummed up' regulators, so i got one. Ray

atom13

Welcome to the Out&AboutLive forums.

Gaslow markets a wide range of gas hoses ('pigtails').

Some of these are specifically designed to connect to propane gas-bottles having the traditional UK-norm outlet-valve and these pigtails will have a 'POL' left-hand threaded male connector at the gas-bottle end. The POL connector of some of these Gaslow propane-specific pigtails has a solid metal end and requires a spanner to tighten, while the end of the POL connector of other Gaslow propane-suitable pigtails has a rubber 'cone' and there's a red plastic hand-wheel. Gaslow calls the latter type of POL connector "Propane Easy-Fit" and (as Ray says) attaching an Easy-Fit pigtail to a propane bottle does not require a spanner to obtain gas-tightness.