New member looking for advice

nickwwalker

I'm new to this game. I intend doing plenty of research and trying before I buy. However there are thousands of options, so in order to narrow the feild, as it were, I'd appreciate some pointers about what to look at first.

I'm looking for a 2 berth or maybe one that could occasionally take 2 grandchildren. So 4 belted seats, and 2 berth or maybe 2+2 berth. I'm thinking of < 6m long and capable of reasonable parking & occasional use as a second car. Need a shower / toilet / cooker and aircon ideally.

Buying new or secondhand, but 1-5 years old ideally and budget still to decide. But thinking £20k to £40k. So with that in mind please could someone who's done it already narrow my target vehicles with some advice on the following:

What's the best base vehicle for reliability and decent mpg as a motorhome?

My 2l HDi car does 55mpg but what should I expect to get from a 2 to 2.5 diesel van?

What PVC or coachbuilt vehicles might be best / suitable, that are made in the UK?

If I looked at a european vehicle, then what should I look at?

Lots of mention of RWD being better for a van, why when FWD is generally better on snow & ice?

If I wanted to take my 15' open canoe (26kg) on board (roofrack?) is that possible?

(I'd prefer not to get an inflatable but I know I may have to!)

Thinking about driving in towns & parking at supermarkets etc; what are the optimum turning circle, height and width considerations?

If using ferries (economically), are there optimum weights, lengths & heights to keep within?

Thanks, I realise that's a lot to ask here. But I know the knowledge is out there and I'm hoping someone with a bit of time to spare and might be kind enough to share their thoughts with me.

Many thanks

Nick

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply