MP3 Player

Cliffy

I am looking to buy a MP3 player which can be played through the MH radio via a device that finds a free frequency on the radio and tunes itself in. This will save carrying CDs with us.

Has anyone got any experience of such a device and if so any recommendations?

Thanks

Cliff

Hi Cliff

We have an Apple iPod Nano which we use with a transmitter. It stores and plays up to about 2000 tracks depending on the length of the tracks. The transmitter works very well and we recently bought one that charges the iPod as we travel off the spare cigar lighter. We just put it on shuffle and on a long journey we get quite a mix of music with both my wife and my tastes catered for.

We bought the 4th generation of the Nano as the newer ones have a radio player and photo player which we have no need of. We love it and by using the radio transmitter you get a great quality of sound. There are obviously cheaper MP3 players out there but I have no knowledge of their performance.

Have to agree with Mike been through various MP3 players now use an an ipod far better.

If you go the ipod route depending on your headset you may be able to get an adapter so you can plug the ipod straight in and you control it from the headset. If your headset has a socket on the back for a CD remote changer chances are you can get an adapter..

We only have a cheap, plug-in type MP3 player (Phillips?..probably around 25-30 quid?)...bought primarily because the controls on the MH stereo were too fiddly to operate, without inadvertently altering display settings/searching stations/co*king up the balance etc *-) ..and although the sound quality is very good and we did load dozens and dozens of CDs, it is really tiny!...no bigger than a Wrigley's chewing gum packet!...

Which makes viewing the display and navigating through the menus really fiddly...

So, if you do look at cheaper types, my tip would be, to check how user-friendly they are....

Hi Cliff,