manual switching gas bottles

jdogg

this is my first time posting on this forum so hello all.

i'm new to motorhoming and learning as i go. i've been living in my 1992 Tabart FFB Classic 570 for a month now and have a query that i can't find the answer to elsewhere. hopefully someone here can help me out.

i have a 6kg calor propane bottle in my motorhome but i'm in france at the moment and need more gas for when my calor runs out. i've purchased a butagaz le cube propane bottle and another regulator to fit it. so i have 2 propane bottles each with a regulator. my question is... can i connect both regulators to the motorhome via a T piece and manually turn on/off the gas bottles without gas leaking out of the breather hole in the regulator that is off? i am assuming that the regulators have a non return valve inside them between the breather hole and the output but to be honest i don't know how they function. i want to use a T piece so that i don't have to disconnect the flexible tube often and risk damaging it. can someone confirm that this is safe to do? maybe it would be best to not bother with the T piece and just have 1 bottle connected to the motorhome at once. whatever advice you can provide would be appreciated.

thanks.

/ john

Yes you can is the short answer.

I basically had this setup in my last van with an Alugas refillable and a standard 11 Kg exchange bottle.

The Alugas had its own regulator and the other bottle had a 37 mbar bottle mounted regulator. I just used a tee piece and flexible low pressure hose to connect them. The refillable bottle was never touched and I rarely had to change the exchange bottle as it was my backup supply only.