Roof light over beds

oap43

I have just received the e-mail about motorhome bed options.

I am considering changing my 10 year old motorhome.

At the NEC, I was unable to see any that did not have a roof light over the main bed(s).

I've been camping for over 60 years and the first thing I was taught by the Scouts, was to keep ones bedding dry. My current motorhome does not have a roof light in the Luton Top bed.

Roof lights eventually break or their seals fail. They can also get broken by objects falling.

So why have them over beds?

It's a bit like caravans having the gas fridge exhaust in the wall where the awning attaches!

Salesmen tell me that everyone wants a bright area for the bed. But darkness is ideal for sleeping!

Does everyone agree with these salesmen?

Simple answer - ventilation!

We quite often open the roof light over our bed and even turn on the fan within it to get fresh air to help sleep on a hot and muggy night.

And before you ask, opening a window next to the bed does not have the same effect!

Keith.

Wouldn't be without ours, we like star gazing, the ventilation aspect is important and you wake up naturally in the morning as the light level increases. If you need a dark sleep area pull the blind across.

Never heard of high incidents of roof lights leaking, I suppose it happens but.............

We have a Ace modena with a fixed bed it has a roof light over the bed. As already stated it is great to have it open at night. The only problem we have experienced was one night it started to rain and the wind blew the rain in, it woke me up when it hit my face I quickly shut the roof light when I had worked out why my face was getting wet whilst half a sleep.

Mag&Hal - 2015-10-02 2:19 PM

Wouldn't be without ours, we like star gazing, the ventilation aspect is important and you wake up naturally in the morning as the light level increases. If you need a dark sleep area pull the blind across.