Should I buy a 2008 Bessacarr E435

benwilkes

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this.

My wife and I (along with two boys, 4 and 6) are looking to get into motorhoming and have a budget of up to 25k.

We have seen a Bessacarr E435 that looks great and now it's getting close to doing the deal, I'm getting nervous. We will be seeing it at the weekend and my list to check is:

1. Spongy floor / damp - is the undecided covered in black plastic (worrying sign) or black painted (probably treated)

2. Gearbox / Juddering whilst reversing issues. I understand Fiat have had some issues with this but am not sure if this is all / a few / which model etc?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm keen to become a MH-er but don't want to start wrong.

Thanks

Ben

Have a read of this

https://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/motorhomes/buyers-guide/motorhomes/features/details/24

and this

http://www.practicalmotorhome.com/reviews/motorhome/30284-bessacarr-e435

You will see the payload is 396kg which is a bit tight for a family of four. However, if the van has been uprated to 3500kg, it should be ok. Payload is something you need to take seriously. There have been several threads recently on this but any internet search will give you plenty of information.

If you can get a clean and dry one which is not damp, it will be a sensible choice but only until the boys get older. Boys tend to fight when cooped up in a luton - we had two boys!

Make sure you keep some money back to cover any unexpected bills in your first year.

Thanks John, that is really helpful.

As a newbie, I presume payload is the max weight we can move in the vehicle - I.e. Combines passenger and luggage weight. I shall look into it more.

The article about the vehicle is helpful although we are looking at the newer model with the updates cab. I'm concerned (although not 100% sure) it's the X250 that has been reported on as having issues with reversing up hills and shuddering. Do you know anything about that?

Thanks again.