Autoquest 180 - Steep Driveway - Overhang

Jwemmy

Hi all,

I'm new to the motorhome scene, so apologies if this has been posted somewhere else before !

I'm looking at an Autoquest 180 (2011 year). It ticks a lot of my boxes, but has a prominent overhang behind the rear wheels, and I have a steep-ish driveway (average 10% gradient).

I've tried asking Elddis direct, and my dealer, whether I'm likely to have a problem, but they seem reluctant to address the issue.

Does anyone else have experience in this area / similar problems ?

Many thanks in advance for your comments, Jem

I have similar problems with my 7.6 metre Autotrail Savannah, if i load the rear garage/lockers before coming down the drive, the rear towbar acts as a skid and drags on the ground, but at least doesn't cause any damage to the rear bodywork. I now leave loading them until after coming down the drive (day of departure). The high reverse gear doesn't help when reversing up either, clutch smells a bit, but it doesn't judder (2012 model).

When you reverse up the first time I would have someone seeing you back, to ensure you have enough clearance, and keep the loading light, ie.empty water/waste tanks, etc., it's a nuisance but nothing more.

You could try making a scale drawing of your sloping drive and a separate drawing of the long cross section of your motorhome chassis to see if there might be a problem. I did a similar thing before I bought my PVC but with a plan outline of the van to see if it would fit in the gap between my house and my garage given the turning circle available. I had to find out the turning circle for front and rear wheels and draw these on the plan to see if the sides of the van were likely to hit anything. I worked out that it should fit, just, and that turned out to be the case although it often takes a few attempts to get it lined up correctly such that the turning circle gets me into the slot.

Welcome to the forum.