keeping battery charged

louisekay

Hi

i am new to motorhomeing (first winter) and would like some advise on keeping lesiure battery fully charged

elddis autoquest has a automatic charger so when on mains chargers. During this cold snap have been hooking up to mains for a few hours a day leaving heater on sometimes. Will this damage the battery inanyway or would it be ok to leave on 24/7. If you were away it would be on mains 24/7but you would be using ljghts etc.or should i just charge on mains once a week say for 24 hours hope this makes sense, any thoughts please.

This is a controversial question. Some will say yes and others will say no.

It depends to some extent on the make of charging system and the battery type. Some charging systems drip-feed the batteries even when they are fully charged.

I just charge for a couple of days until they get to a float charge of 13.8 volts and then turn off. Then, when they discharge to a resting voltage of around 12.2 volts (about 50% discharge), I then charge up again for a couple of days.

My starter battery seems to discharge more than the habitation battery, probably cos it powers the vehicle standby electronics and the Tracker system (which I no longer use but it still consumes power).

Robbo - 2016-01-20 7:59 PM

I just charge for a couple of days until they get to a float charge of 13.8 volts and then turn off. Then, when they discharge to a resting voltage of around 12.2 volts (about 50% discharge), I then charge up again for a couple of days.

Ouch! 12.4V is closer to the resting voltage for 50%SoC for a FLA whether open or VRLA.

At 12.2v the battery will be sulphating.

That said, you will get as many different views on this as folks you ask!

If I were laying up my vehicle, I would just connect something like this permanently: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00E907PWS/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_RB.Nwb98V1S0A