21w Flourescent modified to 2w LED @ £1.50 - How to

aandncaravan

This is intended as a guide to help those considering modifying old style Fluorescent lights to low energy double brightness, LED's for less than £1.50.

Note this requires some electrical knowledge/skill, but is not difficult.

In the past, updating a 21watt Fluorescent light meant fitting an LED tube often with disappointing light output or replacing the entire fixing, sometimes leaving 'fitting holes' where the old unit was previously attached.

A month or so ago I had to improve the lighting in the Boot/Hatch area of my Car so I could see what I was doing when working on site. A bit of research found a small bright COB LED panel that was less than 0.75 x 2.0 inches. It had the claimed brightness of a 60watt/240v Incandescent bulb, so reasonably bright.

When I attached one of these 36 COB LED panels I was astounded by how bright it was. I have been using LEDs in electronic projects since the 1980's, but was astonished by the 'new' COB led technology.

Next time away in the Caravan, the poor brightness of the existing lights, even the ones updated to SMD LED's 18 months before, started me thinking.

So I took the lens off the 11" Fluorescent light unit which draws over 2amps in use, removed the Tube and measured to see if one of these COB Panels would fit inside.

I then removed/unscrewed the unit to see how easy it was to get to the wiring/ switch.

Most fluorescent lights have an Inverter which boosts the Motorhome/Caravans 12v power up to several hundred volts to spark the tube. This would clearly be way to high for the 12v panel, so the Inverter had to be bypassed.

I found the 12v wiring into the unit and disconnected it from the Inverter. It actually went first to a switch at one end of the light.

I cut the wire from the output side of the switch so it no longer fed the Inverter, and took the 12v from the switch to a point roughly in the middle of where the old Tube had been.