Newbie With payload Question

Trev23

Hi,

I'm new to motorhoming and looking at buying a 2010 Elddis 120, it has a quoted payload of 379KG unladen weight 2621KG and Max weight 3000KG.

Am I correct in thinking, as the van is older (I believe they changed the way they calculate payload in 2015) they have added a driver (75kg) 90% water and diesel to the unladen weight so the 379KG payload does not need to include the driver, water and diesel, just passengers, clothes, beer, wine, whisky, food, bedding equipment etc?

Thanks *

If the vehicle is plated for a maximum permissable weight of 3000kg that's it, you cannot exceed that weight whichever way you load it - and it does need to include the driver, the contents of the water, waste and fuel tanks, the food in the fridge and cupboards and even anything you have in your pockets as you climb in!  Fitted accessories such as awnings and solar panels add to the vehicle's base weight and come off the payload too.

This MH sounds like it hasn't got much payload at all so before you buy it take it to a weighbridge (or get the dealer to do so) to get a baseline weight, taking note of what is l]already loaded, then subtract the figure from 3000kg and that's what you can load.

The 2010 brochure is available here:

http://www.elddis.co.uk/documents/Brochures/2010/autoquest-brochure.pdf

....and confirms the basis that you set out. (and as you imply, the basis for the quoted weights on current models is somewhat different).

The basis for the 2010 figures also implies that a (the maximum?) tolerance for materials variation has been taken into account.

The payload of 379kg is pretty low, but IF it has been calculated in accordance with what the brochure states, then it is probably just about workable for two people who travel fairly lightly, and with few added accessories.

Hi Snowie,