Best Gas supplier for trip to Ireland

bigaljo

Hello all, I am new to this site so please be gentle with me.

I am planning a trip to the Emerald Isle with my M/H shortly.

I understand that the Irish Calor bottles are not interchangeable with the UK Calor bottles which concerns me as I dont want to find myself unable to exchange my 6kg Propane bottles whilst away.

I am fairly new to motor-homing so cant really estimate how much gas I will need for a two week trip.

Can anyone suggest a solution? Has anyone had a trip to Ireland recently? Would I be better to change supplier, to say, Flogas. I dont want to go to the expense of Gaslow at the moment. I think I have 1 full 6kg cylinder and 1 about 3/4 full at the moment.

I am hoping that one of you more experienced motor homer's will be able to guide me as to my best option.

Thanks in advance.

Alan

Hi Alan,

At this time of year you are unlikely (?) to need heating so your gas usage should be fairly low. I would think your 1 3/4 cylinders would be more than ample for 2 weeks, in fact I would almost bet you would not even finish the part cylinder!

As an example 2 years ago we went to Iceland for a total trip of just over 5 weeks and only used approx half of a 13 kg cylinder, ie around 6 kg in 5 weeks!

My opinion, go with what you have and just keep an eye on usage.

PS If you want to check gas (well actually liquid) level I recommend the Dometic gas Checker Pen...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dometic-GasChecker-GC-100-Level/dp/B00CTLVU0M/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

But check around for the best price.

Keith.

bigaljo - 2017-07-27 5:44 PM

Thanks for the advice Robert. Have you any thoughts regarding Calor v Flogas?

Connections for Calor and Flo Gas are identical , so bottles are interchangeable

If you order from Gasdeals website gas is cheaper than Calor. If you haven't got an exchange bottle there are several deals with low ( £5) deposit on the bottles

Price includes delivery

Patrick