Fiat X290 external temp readout

grahamw

My X290 had its instrument panel replaced last year because of spurious dimly lit warning lights. Problem solved. However, I noticed that the external temperature readout was giving odd results. Usually in error by about 10 degrees C. I reported this to the garage who apologised for not "fully resetting the system" and I was assured that everything would now be ok. I'm now driving around in good sunny weather with the ice warning symbol illuminated and a temperature readout between 2 and 3 degrees C. The warmer it is outside the greater the discrepacy appears to be.

To have the knowledge is to have the power and I'm afraid at this stage my knowledge of the system is limited. I believe the sensor is located in one of the external mirrors but as for "resetting of the system" or a means of recalibrating the system I have no knowledge. Or is it simply a malfunctioning sensor which needs replacing? It represents an obvious malfunction on the dash and at MOT time one wonders how this would be viewed not to mention that I effectively lose an important warning because of the systems unreliability.

Can anyone throw any light on what might be the cause and hence what needs to be done?

I had this problem on an X250 and it was eventually resolved by changing the driver's door mirror. The temperature sensor is located at the bottom of the mirror case and necessitates the cutting of a hole if fitting mirror protectors. It seems over-the-top, but seemingly you cannot get just a replacement sensor, the whole mirror must be changed.

Graham,

The answer is simple! The wires to the sensor are reversed.

The sensor will be a thermocouple which is a 'junction' of dissimilar metals which produces a very small voltage proportional to the temperature (as low as 0 to 2 mV) . This voltage is then measured relative to a known junction.