Van Battery at 12.2V

andrew.halls2309gma

Hi all

Setting up my solar trickle charger for winter storage and I noticed that my van battery was only at 12.2V.

When the engine is running I'm getting 13.8-14V, so charging okay and when I switch off it drops to 12.7V and stays at that for a couple of minutes but over about a 5 minute period it steady drops to 12.2V and then stays there.

The van starts quite easily and it is a new battery (only about 4 months old), I just don't understand why it drops down to what I believe is about 50% charge.

I have basic knowledge of van electrics but not the technical stuff, am i missing something?

Any advise gratefully received

As always thanks in advance

Andy

Andrew's motorhome is 2008-vintage and based on a Renault Master chassis. The vehicle was discussed here about a month ago.

https://forums.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/Replacement-Lunar-Champ-over-cab-skylight/56548/

Although a 12.2V reading would suggest a 50% state of charge, that diagnosis would only be reliable if the reading had been taken when the battery was disconnected from the vehicle and had been allowed to ‘rest’ for several hours without receiving any charge.

Mt wife’s Skoda car exhibits similar behaviour. If I fully charge its newish starter-battery with my CTEK charger, let the battery rest for (say) 4 hours and then take a reading (with an known-to-be-accurate multimeter) at the battery’s terminals, the readout suggests that the battery is heavily discharged. As it’s plain from the immediacy and vigour of the car’s starting that the battery is actually well charged, I’ve learned to accept this phenomenon. There must be something about the Skoda’s electrical system that skews the voltage reading, but I don’t know what it is and - as there’s no obvious negative symptoms or effect relating to the low voltage reading - I don’t care.