Safe battery load

TheFrenchConnection

The OH is a Remoska addict and we plan to take it with us on our winter Spain/Portugal trip this year. 

My 'O Level' physics tells me that its 400W is less than 2A, so it should be fine on any EHU. However if we wanted to use it on an inverter would that current draw be unkind to our (almost new) 110AH leisure battery?

We have a solar panel and would probably only be off EHU for a couple of days at a time.

Advice from more electrics-knowledgeable people would be appreciated.

able

Thanks Colin, that' a very useful link.

I'm a bit confused though as the 'five times' rule uses the load in amps multiplied by five to give the battery capacity in AH. So the load of the 2A Remoska x 5 = 100AH, just within a 110AH battery. The inverter would need to supply 2A x 230V = 460W (plus allowance for losses)?

I'm far from an expert here, am I missing something?

But to get 2 A at 230 V would require a supply into the inverter of 2 * 230/12  or nearly 40 Amps!

Or look at it another way, you require 400 W at 230 V and Watts is Watts irrespective of voltage so add 10% for inverter losses and you need 440 W at 12 V or once again near 40 Amps!

You are going to need considerably bigger batteries to run your Remoska!

Keith.

8 minutes ago, TheFrenchConnection said:

Thanks Colin, that' a very useful link.

I'm a bit confused though as the 'five times' rule uses the load in amps multiplied by five to give the battery capacity in AH. So the load of the 2A Remoska x 5 = 100AH, just within a 110AH battery. The inverter would need to supply 2A x 230V = 460W (plus allowance for losses)?

I'm far from an expert here, am I missing something?

I think there may be a misunderstanding above.  The connected load is measured in Amps (A), which is not the same as Amp hours (Ampere hours, or Ah), which is the power consumed when a load of 1A is sustained for 1 hour.  The 5 times rule, as I read it, relates only to the connected load.