Current Drain in Fiat Ducato/ Swift Sundance '06

Clyde

I am pretty new to the whole motorhoming thing, but not to forums, however at the terrible risk of asking something already covered (I've only just seen what an active forum this is), I am so frustrated and don't have the time to go through the whole site.

So, he is the thing.

I bought my Sundance October '07. It's a 2.3 Fiat Ducato base registered June '06.

I had professionally installed a Multimedia dash stereo which also has a 7" screen hooked up to a reversing camera (installed by the same people), in December.

Since then, I have experienced many flat starter batteries.

As a result I have had all the associated wiring and the Sat-Nav rewired and tidied up.

Even without the stereo in/connected I have a current drain of about half an amp.

Further tests have revealed a current drain on the right hand power connector feeding the small fuse panel on the RHS of the dash of about 200mA, and nearly 300mA on the similarly located connector on the LHS of the dash.

Disconnecting these two from anything sees just about 35mA for the tracker.

There is a 70A fuse in the main engine bay fuse box (front right). Disconnecting this eliminates all issues.

There was a consideration to fit a relay on the ignition switch to supply this 70A fuse. However, this was done for another customer in exactly the same position with about 750mA drain.

It had more strange effects rather than curing the problem, but I didn’t see this.

The original 100A/650AHr battery has been found to have a defective cell and been replaced with a 90A 650AHr which lasted a week before it died – presumably from the current drain.