Constantly running taps.

Jonty068

Good afternoon.

We are having issues with our water taps, both bathroom and galley. They will not stop running when turned off, they slow to a trickle and the water pump then just pulses until we turn it off at the main panel, even then it takes a few minutes for the water to completely stop. The shower and toilet seem unaffected. I cannot find any evidence of a leak. I have tried adjusting the screw on the base of the water pump. I have drained the system completely, twice, and refilled it, to no avail.

The pump is a Shurflo Trail King 7, the boiler is a Truma Combi (E)

I'm stumped, I'm also no expert either, any pointers would be gratefully received.

Regards Jon.

Hi

I had a similar problem some years back. The problem was the microswitch in the tap sooooooo I cut the wire to the tap and inserted a switch in the cupboard beneath so I could switch off without effecting the other electric.

It was permanently corrected by replacing the tap but my Heath Robinson solution lasted for the best part of a year before I bothered.

Peter

I agree with Peter's diagnosis,

Check if you have microswitched taps by looking under the tap for two thin wires. If you do then try disconnecting one of the wires at each tap in turn until you find the one causing the pump to continue running.

I believe it is possible to replace the microswitch without removing the tap but have never personally done it. Maybe YouTube can throw up a video???

Keith.

Welcome to the Out&AboutLive forums, Jon.

It would be unusual for a motorhome's water-system that includes a SHURflo TrailKing pressure-sensitive water pump to have taps with micro-switches that turn the pump on and off. (That arrangement is not unknown - my 2005 Hobby motorhome had it - it's just rare.)