Help Ducato wont start.

RONROSIEM

I have a 2005 Ducato 2.0 JTD which is off the road for the winter. I run the engine periodically the last time being about a month ago when it started fine and I ran it up to temperature normally.

Today it wont start. The 'Injection System Failure' warning light does not go out when I switch the ignition on.

Can anyone offer any advice please. Is it a job that can only be done by a Fiat dealership? or could a local garage fix it.

My nearest Fiat garage is 70 miles away.

Thanks

Guest Tracker

I have no knowledge of how the engine electronics work on a modern vehicle but two things come to mind.

First a phone call to the nearest franchised dealer for advice on the warning light issue. It may be a faulty sensor or only a dirty contact but knowing how and where to look is everything - and I don't sorry.

Second, immobilisers, especially aftermarket fitted ones can cause issues. I had a similar sporadic problems many moons ago on a petrol engined van and removing the afterfit immobiliser cured it. Therefore I wonder if there is a way to bypass or disable the immobiliser if only to eliminate it from your enquiries?

If the engine turns over OK can I ask why you tried jump starting?

Hopefully an expert on ecu electronics will spot your question soon.

I had a Ducato of the same generation, and it had an immobiliser that was automatically disengaged when the key was inserted into the ignition.  In a similar way to our present Ford, the key "talked" to the van electronics to disengage the immobiliser.  Assuming the immobiliser is OEM, I suspect the key is not interacting as it should.  Whether the Fiat key is powered by the (renewable) central locking battery, or by an irreplaceable rechargeable battery concealed in the key, that charges when in the ignition (as the Ford), I do not know.