Basic Motorhome Wiring

whatsupdoc

Could someone give me some pointers to basic wiring in a motorhome?

I don't necessarily want to start doing stuff myself, but I would like to understand what's going on - is there a central "junction box" and if so does everything pass through it?

For instance, how would extra 12v or 240v sockets be added?

And, for example, if I get someone wewe to fit an MTTP regulator for a solar panel, how could I be sure that it's been wired in such a way that the vehicle battery gets a trickle charge?

As I am a complete novice in these matters any info would be very gratefully received!

You might like to consider John Wickersham's "Motor Caravan Manual" published by Haynes. Available from Amazon, or possibly Halfords. Make sure you get the latest edition: £14.79 from Amazon, with free delivery here: http://tinyurl.com/amur4jt

I don't have a copy, but I know a man who does, and he thinks it very good. Contains lots of useful information beyond electrical systems.

230 v Sockets,Easy way is to  find a cable that feeds an existing socket, make SURE that the power is off, cut this cable and fit a junction box and another cable  to run to where you want the extension socket, connect all up and test, you now have a spur, do not try and run all the sockets [spurs ] at the same time as you  could over load and trip your supply, if you feel competent enough you could run a string of sockets with a cable returning to your  fuse  box/ consumer  unit and  create a Ring Main, Be sure you use  mains power cable.
 12 volt sockets, the easy way is to fit a 12v socket where you want it, run the cables back to your battery through a fuse as close to the batteries as  you can and connect the cables to the battery , be aware of  a Polarity, live to live , neutral to neutral.fuse size depends on what you want to run from the  sockets,and cable size.

whatsupdoc - 2012-11-02 2:17 PM