Renault Master Tyre Pressures

spartan3956

spartan3956 - 2013-03-14 6:44 PM

Hi

I have a Renault master 2012 with a Bentley Donnington body i dont know the tyre pressures and cannot as you know find out as they have gone bust.

Any one help or should i guess around 60 psi

Pete

I'm a bit surprised that a 2012 Bentley on a Renault has neither Renault nor Bentley handbooks. If it has, the recommended pressures should be stated.

In the meantime, it doesn't matter what the van, or base vehicle, make is. All you need is the details from the VIN plate of the Renault which will give you the maximum permissible loads for front and rear axles. Then, make a note of the make and type of tyres fitted, and also their size, aspect ratio, and speed and load ratings. Then, phone the technical department of the tyre manufacturer and give then the front and rear loadings, plus all the tyre data, and they will be able to tell you what pressures to use. However, I would expect these to be quite a bit higher than 60psi.

If you want to refine these further you need to fully load your van, including all passengers etc, and visit a weighbridge. First check that the van is not overloaded, and then check the actual load on each axle. If you then consult the tyre manufacturer as above for his recommended pressures for the actual loads, you should get lower pressures than the above, and may also find the ride improves. However, before doing this do make sure the van is at its maximum running weight as you would use it. If pressures are set for load and the load is subsequently increased, the tyres would be under-inflated, which can cause overheating and, ultimately, blow-out. Nasty! :-)

spartan3956 - 2013-03-14 6:44 PM

Hi

I have a Renault master 2012 with a Bentley Donnington body i dont know the tyre pressures and cannot as you know find out as they have gone bust.

Any one help or should i guess around 60 psi

Pete

Hi Pete,