M/H step not retracting

Stewart

Our Hobby Toskana habitation door step has stopped retracting automatically when the engine is started. It continues to come out and retract correctly when controlled by the switch by the door.

Any ideas on where I should look for the fault?

Our van is a 2008 Hobby Toskana 600GFLC on a Fiat chassis.

I am no expert Stewart....there will be many who will give you you better advice than I.

But...my step did exactly the same..on a 2007 Compass[Eldis?] and it was cured by getting under the step..cleaning the accumulated dirt..especially around the motor..WD40 grease and it then worked!

It still seems ok [working] so it must be something simple like a good cleaning.

Good luck

cheetahdavie - 2013-06-21 12:06 AM

I am no expert Stewart....there will be many who will give you you better advice than I.

But...my step did exactly the same..on a 2007 Compass[Eldis?] and it was cured by getting under the step..cleaning the accumulated dirt..especially around the motor..WD40 grease and it then worked!

It still seems ok [working] so it must be something simple like a good cleaning.

Good luck

Thanks. The mechanism could probably do with a good cleaning although the step works fine when controlled by the switch by the door.

sshortcircuit - 2013-06-21 8:50 AM

Check fuses at split charge relay which should be in the engine compartment.

Thanks. I'll have a look for that fuse. Unfortunately, I have just put the van back into storage so it'll have to wait for a few weeks.

I suspect your 'van uses a CBE control panel and distribution box.

If so, the retraction of the step is (AFAIK) controlled by the simulated D+ connection (which also controls such things as the AES fridge switching, etc.) provided by the distribution box.

The output from this is protected in the distribution box by a (probably 3amp) fuse. I would check this first (the location should be in your Hobby manual).