Continental Van Contact 100 225/70 R15 112R C summer tires

mentaliss

Hi Larry,

I can't comment on the Van Contact 100 but how about Vanco 2? They also rated at 112R.

I've been running mine now for about 18 months and find them great and noticeably quieter than the old Continental Vanco 8PR that they replaced and also very good on wet grass (although our MH is rear wheel drive).

The price seems to vary considerably but my local independent, family run tyre dealer got them for me at a price to match the best on-line.

Keith.

I think you will find it was actually a double rating on that specific size of the Vanco 2.

Have a look at this Continental Tyres download booklet... Link

If you look at Page 22 you will see that the standard LI (Load Index) for a 225/70 R15 is 112R which means it can support an individual weight of 1,120 kg (or an axle weight of 2,240 kg) up to a maximum speed of 106 mph. (Note the 110R refers to use on a twin rear wheel set up).

Then it has a bracketed LI of 115N which means it can also be used to support a weight of 1,215 kg (an axle weight of 2,430 kg) BUT at a reduced maximum speed of 87 mph.

See page 7 for Speed Index and page 8 for Load Index ratings.

The question now is whether the Van Contact 100 can be run at the reduced speed Load Index of 115N as Continentals on-line product range guide Link only states the 112/110R Load Index for a Van Contact 100.

A call or email to Continental may be the best way to answer this question.

Keith.

mentaliss

As Keith says, the standard Load Index (LI) of a 225/70 R15C tyre is 112 and (referring to your earlier postings about uprating your motorhome's axle-loadings) it would seem that you had no need for tyres with a higher LI.

"Vanco 2" still seems to be available in 225/70 R15C size via the Oponeo website if that's what you want

http://www.oponeo.co.uk/tyre-finder/van-tyres-continental-225-70-r15