WING MIRROR REPLACEMENT PEUGEOT BOXER (2010) 335 MWB

atom13

Some kindly tradesman swiped the driver' wing mirror on my Boxer based MH leaving it beyond repair. I ve got a replacement ordered (NOT from a main dealer, I hasten to add). The mirror is electric, heated, with an in-built indicator.

Could anyone lead me through the steps to replace it myself as I am not very tech savvy!

Many thanks for any advice.

Guest Had Enough

It may not be as easy as you think. It's likely that your existing mirror is secured by shear bolts. These are bolts, the heads of which, when the mirror has been tightened in position, snap off. This is to make it difficult for someone to steal your mirrors.

The existing shear bolts have to be drilled out, which is a precision job.

My advice? Take it to a local body shop and negotiate a price of about £25-30 to remove the old one and fit the new one. Once the old one has been removed it's a very quick job to fit the replacement and plug in the heating and power connection.

You could also suggest that shear bolts aren't used this time so that if it happens again you can do it yourself.

Sorry HE but I'd never heard of door mirrors being fitted with shear head bolts so I did a quick spot of searching and found this earlier thread relating to a 2009 Boxer which I'd assume is the same as a 2010 and no mention of shear head screws :-)

http://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/door-mirror-replacement-2009-Ducato-save-more-than-200-/20627/

Keith.

Guest Had Enough
Keithl - 2014-06-17 6:11 PM

Sorry HE but I'd never heard of door mirrors being fitted with shear head bolts so I did a quick spot of searching and found this earlier thread relating to a 2009 Boxer which I'd assume is the same as a 2010 and no mention of shear head screws :-)

http://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/door-mirror-replacement-2009-Ducato-save-more-than-200-/20627/

Keith.