240V circuit

aka4ajax

Hi All,

I am a newbie to this motorhome experience so please be gentle with me. However I am fairly technical and DIY savvy so should be ok with most stuff, but I do need a bit of your expertise guidance.

I have a Burstner 820i Elegance fitted with 2 x 110AH (fitted in parallel for 12v) leisure batteries which are charged via the mains hookup and alternator while engine is running. There is also a 1000W inverter connected to the leisure batteries, but nothing connected to it for 240v.

So everything works great and as it should, but when i am away from hookup 240v I can only get 240v from the inverter if i am to plug in an extension lead, keeping it separate from the main 240v ring of the motorhome.

If i was to connect it to the motorhome 240v ring main, it would try to recharge the batteries via the ebox i think, or am i ok to somehow wire it into my motorhome mains circuit so I can use the same plugs, rather than an extension lead?

Thanks in advance and I eagerly wait some advice.

Neil

You are looking for trouble if you connect your inverter to your 230 v system, IMO it can be done but why bother, just fit a few sockets connected direct to the inverter and use them sparingly as you will only have about 4 amps from a 1000 watt inverter , probably less depending on cable runs and cable sizes and condition of your batteries , keep it simple stupid is my mantra.

aka4ajax - 2015-09-13 6:38 PMMany thanks,I am hedging towards exactly that, maybe re-wiring one or two of the sockets and marking them as Inverter supplied ones. So i will have 3 options of power;12v, 240v via inverter and 240v via mains hook up.Thanks again.