Van service

Marcol

I recently had my Transit custom 2.2 serviced by my local independent garage. The van is a 2014 with 50000 on the clock

I always leave it to the garage to do what is needed and this time they used the new Castrol Magnatec professional Ford spec oil in the service. Also I noticed they used some Wynns diesel injector cleaner.

Now the purpose of this post is to say that my van has never run so well or so smoothly. Is it the new oil or the injector cleaner or both ?

Anyone else using the new Castrol professional oil and if so what are your thoughts ?

Marcol - 2018-03-02 8:24 PM Now the purpose of this post is to say that my van has never run so well or so smoothly. Is it the new oil or the injector cleaner or both ?

Couldn't comment on the oil but I know that Wurth Injector cleaner works well and improves performance so possibly Wynns is having the same effect

As a student I worked in a garage on Saturday mornings and many customers commented on how much better their cars ran after a service. The mechanic said the difference was purely psychological especially when the service in question involved little more than greasing the joints which in the old days had to be done every thousand miles.

hi Marcol,

Years ago I used to use Castrol Magnetec on my and all the families cars along with Wynns additive, the engines always seemed to run smoother and quieter. Periodically I would also use Slick50 as an additive which was supposed to put a form of skin on all working parts,certainly cut down on rattles.

cheers

derek

For years I was a Mobil 1 man. I used it in all my cars and vans and it is an excellent oil , but the price just seemed to keep going up.

I now let the garage use whatever they recommend and in the case of the motorhome and my van it’s The Ford spec Castrol Magnatec.

I know the garage used to use low ash 5W30 from Millers oils.