2015 Knaus Sky T1 700 Meb

gjrj

Hello everyone.

We recently purchased this van and would like to fit a Solar panel with dual battery charging regulator. I am having difficulty in locating the leisure. battery . Are there any technical gurus out there who can help with advice on doing this. We are long time motor home owners and in my former life I was an automotive electrician so am not new to electrics and motor homes I am concerned about not damaging the modern habitation electronics and the base vehicle. My thoughts are to wire direct to both batterys ( via fuses ) from the solar voltage controller.

I have located the habitation battery isolator switch under the two front forward facing seats , and am told the vehicle battery is located centre front of the cab floor .Is there a more sophisticated and professional way to do this ? Yes I could just take it to a dealer, but past experience has not been very good on subjects such as this.

Welcome to the Out&AboutLive forums, Gil.

Your Fiat Ducato-based motorhome’s starter-battery will be in a compartment in the floor in front of the left-hand cab seat. (Photos that should help are here)

https://forums.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/Battery-fitting/54196/

Knaus’s specification for a recent SKY TI 700 MEB model suggests that the standard leisure battery will be 80Ah capacity and this, in turn, suggests a gel type battery.

Have you checked what’s under the cab seats, as - when a German motorhome manufacturer chooses to fit a gel (or an AGM) non-maintainable leisure-battery - it’s quite common for an under-cab-seat location to be used?

This 2017 MHFun forum thread

https://www.motorhomefun.co.uk/forum/threads/inverter-question-2-batteries-not-connected.159181/