2019 MH not charging leisure batteries when driving, but I think it should

Redrockers

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and I've read many very useful posts on this forum but unfortunately not found the answer to my issue.

My 2019 Chausson 640 Titanium on a Ford Transit diesel base doesn't charge the leisure batteries while driving and hasn't done since I bought it secondhand a few months ago.

It's fitted as standard with:

CBE PC180-TR management console display

CBE DS300-TR distribution box (B1 not connected to anything)

CBE CB-516 battery charger

2 driving batteries under the driver's seat

2 leisure batteries under the passenger's seat

SCR(?) under plastic panel between front seats:

- 2x 5A fuses

- 1x 50A fuse

- 2x HFV7-P 012-HST relays

- B1 = connects to driving batteries +

- B2 = connects to leisure batteries +

- OUT = connects to B2+ in DS300-TR

The driving batteries charge fine while driving.

The leisure batteries and driving batteries all charge fine when connected to mains 240v when the mgmt panel is turned on.

The leisure batteries charge fine from the solar panel when the mgmt panel is turned on.

I've checked all the fuses I can find and all are ok.

I'm guessing as my MH base is a 2018 Ford Transit fitted with stop/start it will have a Smart Alternator so I believe it would make sense for a SCR (Split Charge Relay) to be fitted instead of a VSR (Voltage Sensitive Relay).

And the relay should be somewhere very close to the driving batteries, so I'm guessing this is what I've found between the front seats under the floor.

If this theory is correct, then the alternator should start charging ALL batteries (2 driving & 2 leisure) as soon as the engine has started. Correct?

Extract from the Chausson User's Manual Chapter XI:

--------

A coupling relay is installed between the two batteries:

- when traveling, this relay couples the two batteries together so that they are recharged simultaneously.