Sat Nav advice please

Roryboy

For many years I've been a paper map man and many years ago I'd be delivery driving in a white van with the 'A to Z' close at hand.

But on the last holiday in France the bride and I had a few difficult moments when our map reading skills deserted us.

At long last I think we should be dragged into the 21st Century and get some sort of electronic help in the shape of a Sat Nav.

But, never owning one or having direct contact with the device, I could do with a bit of help.

I've seen a couple of Satnavs locally and has anyone used one of these or can give a decent reason not to get one or the other ?

TomTom VIA 52 5in Traffic Western EU Lifetime Maps

Garmin Drive Plus MT-S 5 Inch UK, ROI & EU Maps

Any help appreciated.

B-)

I have been using satnav for many years, on both motorcycle tours and in our motorhome. Over the years they have become better and better - although they are not infallible so you do need to read road signs, eg for narrow road warning signs and low bridge warnings. And satnavs do sometimes encourage you to take what it thinks is the shorter route which is actually an unsuitable road so the message is don't switch your eyes or your brain off when using satnav.

The basic ones have also got cheaper and cheaper but I would recommend not buying a cheap one - your motorhome cost a substantial sum so make an investment in a quality satnav to go with it. I'm a fan of the Garmin Camper range and buying one of those with a decent sized screen will not disappoint. Doubtless the TomTom equivalent will be pretty good too.