Ducato rear brakes question (renewal)

tringy

Hi, my motorhome is in for service and I have been informed that there’s a problem with the rear brakes and that someone has fitted Brembo pads previously at some point my question is are Brembo pads fitted as original equipment by fiat when the motorhome was new ? I have had this motorhome from new and never had the brakes replaced yet but the garage says they look like they are very newly been replaced and the wear sensors have been damaged and that’s why they have to be replaced. Seems very weird to me!

This is my 2015 Autotrail 2.3 150 ducato 4.25 t .

Anyone thoughts on this ?

Cheers Tringy

The quoted MAM of the vehicle (4.25 t) exceeds the 3.5 t of the Ducato Maxi.

I suspect that the vehicle has been uprated, and probably has an Alko rear chassis.

The rear brakes would then be part of the Autotrail conversion, and not Fiat parts.

I have not previously heard of wear sensors being fitted to rear brakes, but I am not an expert in that area. Perhaps rear wear sensors are included in the Alko chassis specification?

Alan

From the Fiat brochure "The specific Fiat Ducato Motorhome Base range is the widest and most comprehensive, with no fewer than 5 wheelbases, 6 different chassis lengths, various weights up to the new 4.4-tonne versions,"

What mileage is your van? As you've had the van from new, have you always had it serviced at the same place? Do you have its full service record? Do any of the invoices record the time, materials and charge for work to the rear brakes.? If the pads haven't previously been replaced, there is no reason to assume the present pads are other than OEM. Has there been a recall, or advisory, from Fiat regarding replacing rear brake pads (seems odd that only the rears might have been affected) that might explain a FoC change having been made that you may not have been advised of? Fairy tale for extra business? :-|

Tringy's motorhome is a 2015 Auto-Trail "Mohawk".